What are the penalties for a DUI in Kentucky?

Kentucky's DUI (DWI) laws make it illegal for anyone to drive or be in physical control of a motor vehicle while under the influence of alcohol or drugs. The Commonwealth of Kentucky imposes stiff penalties for anyone convicted of DUI and it is imperative for anyone charged to know the potential consequences of conviction. Here's a quick breakdown:

  • First Offense (within ten years)
    • Fine between $200 and $500
    • Imprisonment between 2 days and 30 days
    • License suspension between 30 and 120 days
    • 90 days of alcohol or substance abuse program
    • Community labor between 2 days and 30 days
  • Second Offense (within ten years)
    • Fine between $350 and $500
    • Imprisonment between 7 days and 6 months
    • License suspension between 12 months and 18 months
    • 1 year of alcohol and substance abuse treatment
    • Community labor between 10 days and 6 months
  • Third Offense (within ten years)
    • Fine between $500 and $1,000
    • Imprisonment between 30 days and 12 months
    • License suspension between 2 years and 3 years
    • 1 year of alcohol and substance abuse treatment
    • Community labor between 10 days and 12 months
  • Fourth and Subsequent Offenses (within ten years)
    • Class D Felony
    • Fine between $1,000 and $10,000
    • Imprisonment between 1 year and 5 years (minimum 120 days without probation)
    • License suspension of 5 years

What should I do if I'm charged with a DUI in Kentucky?

You need to contact an experience and successful attorney immediately in order to understand your rights and options. Gatlin Volker, PLLC is comprised of a team of former prosecutors with over 40 years of combined experience. We know how to build strong cases even in the most difficult situations. To schedule a free initial consultation with one of our lawyers, call 859-667-6409 or contact us online.

Sources: DUI Laws in Kentucky - drive.ky.gov